Subject Guides

Need help navigating the Internet? Use these subject guides as a place starting place.

Business and Tax

Links to useful information on the Internet
Federation of Tax Administrators
Information and links of value to tax administrators and the general public alike. Includes links to state tax agency home pages, state tax forms and electronic filing sites, general information on state tax structures.
US Department of Labor/Bureau of Labor Statistics
Impartial, timely, and accurate statistical data relevant to the needs of site users and to the social and economic conditions of the United States, its workers, and their families. Includes the Consumer Price Index.
Thomas Register
A comprehensive resource for industrial information, products, services, CAD drawings. Search by company, brand, and product/service.
Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis/ What’s a dollar worth Calculator
Calculator uses the Consumer Price Index (1913 through 2006) as a measure of the average change in prices over time in a market basket of goods and services.
Internal Revenue Service/US Department of the Treasury
U.S. tax information for individuals, businesses, corporations, international businesses, partnerships, small businesses/self-employed, charities and nonprofits, government entities, tax professionals, the retirement plans community, and the tax exempt bond community.
Iowa Department of Revenue
Iowa tax information for individuals, businesses, local government, and tax professionals, including: online services, tax forms, and publications.
Starting a Business in Iowa
Helpful links and information about starting a big or small business in Iowa.
Business in Iowa
Links and information about expanding, relocating or starting a business in Iowa. Biosciences, advanced manufacturing, and information solutions/financial services are highlighted.
Iowa Department of Economic Development
Links and information aimed at improving the economic well-being of the state of Iowa in the areas of business development, travel, careers, and community development.

Career and Jobs

Links to useful information on the Internet
JobStar Central
Resume and career guide information, job listings by state, job fairs, job banks, and more.
JobStar Central Guides for Specific Careers
Links to sites offering information on careers. Find out what kind of education or training is required, what it is like for people currently working in a specific field, what you can earn, and more.
Monster Career Center Jobzilla
Select your area of interest, and see which career might be for you. This site includes information about the skills and education required for different jobs, gives the employment outlook, and links to information on related careers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
This site includes descriptions of different occupations, educational requirements, salaries, working conditions, and more.
Resume Help
Resume Examples & Free Cover Letter Writing Help. Free resume writing examples and samples. Research how to write a resume and cover letter. Site offers resume writing samples, job interview tips.

Consumer Information

Links to useful information on the Internet.
American Association of Retired Persons
AARP is a nonprofit membership organization of persons 50 and over dedicated to addressing their needs and interests. There is information on health and legal issues, travel, money and work, family and home, fun and games, learning and technology, and issues and elections.
Best of the Best Business Web Sites
Selected by the Business Reference and Services Section (BRASS) of the American Library Association.
Carfax
This site provides vehicle history reports.
Clothing care and stain removal guide
Iowa State University Extension Clothing care and stain removal site. There are stain removal tips and a quick and easy stain removal guide.
Consumer Information Center
This Consumer Information Center in Pueblo, Colorado contains free full text version of hundreds of the best federal consumer publications available on cars, children, employment, federal programs, food and nutrition, health, housing, money, small business, travel, hobbies and more. There is an A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies.
Consumer Product Safety Commission
An independent federal regulatory committed to protecting consumers and families from products that pose a fire, electrical, chemical, or mechanical hazard or can injure children. The CPSC works to ensure the safety of consumer products - such as toys, cribs, power tools, cigarette lighters, and household chemicals. Recalled products and safety alerts on specific products are included.
ConsumerReports
Subscription required to see full articles. Provides ratings, buying guides, product reviews and consumer information from the experts at Consumer Reports magazine. Find out what the best products are for appliances, automobiles, baby and child care products, electronics, foods, health & family, and recreation & home improvement.
ConsumerSearch
This site pulls together all sources of reviews on products. You can choose a quick comparison or a detailed review. ConsumerSearch lets you look at what online and offline reviewers say about everything from bread makers and digital cameras to snow blowers and weight- loss programs
Consumer's Guide to Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
This Web site includes tips on using the latest advances in energy-saving products and practices. We provide tips for using less electricity in your home — including home offices and electronics. Tips for saving fuel on the road will keep more money in your pocketbook. And we tell you how to use the power of renewable resources, like the Sun, at home.
Edmunds.com
The mission of this comprehensive car site is to: empower automotive consumers by providing complete, clear, timely, accurate and unbiased information needed to make informed purchase and ownership decisions. There pricing, car reviews, and ratings for new and used cars. There are discussion forums and tips for purchasing cars.
Environmental Protection Agency
This site contains gas mileage (MPG) information, greenhouse gas emissions, air pollution ratings, and safety information for new and used cars and trucks. You can compare vehicles, find the lowest gasoline prices, and find out about hybrid and alternative fuel vehicles
FirstGov for Consumers
A "one-stop" link to a broad range of federal information resources available online. It is designed so that you can locate information by category -- such as Food, Health, Product Safety, Your Money, and Transportation. Each category has subcategories to direct you to areas within individual federal web sites containing related information.
Food Safety
Iowa State University Extension provides information food safety information to consumers, foodservice managers and employees, and other site visitors on safe food handling practices. Questions regarding the safe preparation and handling of food can be answered here.
Home Energy Saver
This is a do-it-yourself energy audit tool. There are resources to help make your home more energy efficient.
Homefair
Compares the cost of living in hundreds of U.S. cities.
Kelley Blue Book
This Kelley Blue Book site has pricing for new and used cars. There are reviews and ratings and as well as insurance and financing information.
Kiplinger
This site provides you with down-to-earth advice on managing your money and achieving financial security. There are interactive calculators, up-to-the-minute business news, stock and mutual fund quotes, deposit account yields and credit rates. “Getting Started” articles will introduce you to common financial concepts and show you how to get the best deals.
Iowa Attorney General
This Iowa Attorney General site gives the conditions that must be met for your car to be considered a lemon and what you can do about it
Mymoney
This site was set up by the Financial Literacy and Education Commission with the purpose of improving the financial literacy and education of persons in the United States. To reach the widest number of people possible, the Commission established a website and a toll-free telephone number to coordinate the presentation of educational materials from across the spectrum of federal agencies that deal with financial issues and markets.
Quotesmith
Quotesmith.com owns and operates Insure.com, a comprehensive online consumer insurance information service that caters to the needs of self-directed insurance shoppers. Insure.com provides a comprehensive array of comparative auto, life and health quotes, including a vast library of originally authored insurance articles and decision-making tools that are not available from any other single source. Visitors can now obtain instant quotes from more than 200 leading insurers, achieve maximum savings and have the freedom to buy from any company shown. The Company provides up-to-the-day accurate quotes for several lines of insurance including auto, motorcycle, life, individual & family medical, group medical, short term medical insurance, dental, Medicare supplement, homeowners, travel
Reference Resources: Consumer Information
n extensive listing of consumer information web sites compiled by Duke University Libraries.
Student gateway to the U.S. government
This is an official U.S. government web site designed for college students and their families. Our mission is to provide you with easy access to information and resources from the U.S. government – all the info you need, in one place, from all parts of the government
Social Security Online
The official site of the U.S. Social Security Administration. It has information on social security numbers, retirement benefits, disability, Medicare, and other issues related to social security.
Tom’s Hardware
For computer buffs and IT professionals looking for the latest hardware tips, gaming enthusiasts who want to meet other fans, businesspeople who need the best mobile devices, and electronics enthusiasts who are building a state-of-the-art home office. It is a comprehensive source of today’s news and analysis of current computer technology.
Underwriters Laboratories
This agency develops standards and test procedures for materials, components, assemblies, tools, equipment and procedures, chiefly dealing with product safety and utility. You can check to see what products are already certified, submit products for testing, and read warnings regarding unsafe products.
Weather Underground
Weather Underground is committed to delivering the most reliable, accurate weather information possible. There are weather conditions and forecasts for over 60,000 U.S. and international cities.
U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)
An independent federal agency established by Congress to assist, counsel, support and protect the interest of small business concerns and to assist them in their start-up and growth. There is information on the state and national level for starting, financing, and managing small businesses.

Education

Links to useful information on the Internet
AACTE Education Policy Clearinghouse
The purpose of this site is to promote access to high quality information that will assist users in the study of education policies, especially as related to teacher preparation. The AACTE Education Policy Clearinghouse is designed to help people access information on education policy at the national, regional, or state level.
The Educator's Reference Desk
Provides access to the ERIC Bibliographic Database (RIE and CIJE), as well as the searchable AskERIC question archive, which links to a variety of primary Internet resources including FAQs for educators, listserv archives, lesson plans, and more. If you are researching a large topic, Resource Guides collect search results of both Net and bibliographic information on a wide array of topics. ERIC Database search covers the years 1966 to present.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center
This free database from the United States Department of Education indexes a variety of education-related articles. Some resources are available for free online while others must be obtained elsewhere. The site includes the ERIC Thesaurus.
Gateway to Educational Materials
This is a great site for teachers looking for lesson plans on a wide range of subjects. According to a review in WIRED, "GEM evaluates resources from federal, state, university, nonprofit, and commercial sites and compiles a database of lesson plans accessible through a simple search. There are currently over 140 organizations supplying over 7,000 documents to the database."
House Committee on Education and the Workforce
The committee that monitors legislation on education, child labor, school food programs, workers' compensation, vocational rehabilitation, labor wages and hours, and work incentive programs.
National Center for Education Statistics
"NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations." Look here for statistical information on all levels of education. The site includes an encyclopedia of education statistics, an FAQ, activities for children, and a catalog the best search engine based on the information you have, and other resources for teachers.
Peterson's Education Center
Online, searchable versions of the popular Peterson's educational guides. Active sections are private college-preparatory schools, undergraduate colleges, graduate and professional study and
U.S. Department of Education
Compiles a variety of information relating to government initiatives and educational programs at all levels, education-related grants (look under OERI) and statistics (NCES), and departmental publications. News bulletins about department activities are added frequently. Statistics retrieval is unreliable, but otherwise the information provided seems current. It also provides access to individual state education departments. Searchable index and searchable department phone directory available.

E-mail on the Web

Links to free e-mail services on the Web
Gmail
With Gmail, use Google to search for the exact message you want; use chat or e-mail within the same service; gain access from an Internet computer or your mobile phone. There is over 2,500 megabytes of free storage
Hotmail
Hotmail includes virus scanning, junk e-mail filters, 250 megabytes of free storage, access from any computer with Internet access, the ability to send files up to 10 megabytes.
Yahoo mail
Yahoo offers virus and junk e-mail protection, access from Internet computers or mobile phones, the ability to send files up to 10 megabytes.

Genealogy

The study of family ancestries and histories
National Archives: Genealogists/Family Historians
A great starting place for genealogical research, how-to tips for beginners and experts, links to primary sources world-wide, and databases of family trees.
National Archives: State Archives
Genealogists may need to get information from state archives and historical societies. Here is contact information as of January, 2006
Cyndi’s List
A categorized and cross-referenced index to genealogical resources on the Internet, 261,000+ links for family history! (as of 9/1/06)
Repository of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
Iowa Genealogical Society
IGS is a non-profit organization whose mission is to create and foster an interest in genealogy and to aid others in researching their family history. IGS was founded in 1965 by a small group of dedicated genealogists who met in members' houses and carried the original collection in an orange crate. Today our 3,000+ members are worldwide and the book collection alone spans the length of over five football fields.
State Historical Society of Iowa
A main repository of Iowa historical and genealogical information.
Society of American Archivists
Organizations, associations and groups related to or of interest to the archival profession.

Government

Links to useful information on the Internet
American FactFinder from U.S. Census Bureau
Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data including American Community Surveys.
FirstGov.gov
The U.S. Government’s official Web portal providing links to government information at all levels of government by topic and by organization.
Iowa General Assembly
Iowa law, legislators, lobbyists, legislative bills, agencies, and activities, and useful publications.
Iowa Publications Online
Electronic depository for documents produced by Iowa state agencies and intended for use by the general public.
Iowa State Boards and Commissions
Searchable list of commissions by interest, board name, department, and state code.
State and Local Government on the Net
Frequently updated directory of official state, county, and city government Web sites. Also provides links to national organizations, multi-state sites, etc.
National Agricultural Statistics Service Iowa Office
Source for up-to-date statistics on Iowa farm production and prices.
State of Iowa
State’s official Web portal providing links to Iowa state agencies, Iowa county government sites, and Iowa cities with Web sites. Also includes links to information on Iowa tourism, business, education, employment, etc.
State Data Center of Iowa
Source for population, housing, business, and government statistics about Iowa.

Home and Garden

Links to useful information on the Internet
Decorating Arrangements
Dozens of articles about interior decoration. The "Design Styles" section features information about styles such as Art Deco, Asian, French country, rustic, shabby chic, and Shaker. Includes home tours, and design ideas for specific rooms and for items, such as baskets, candles, lamps, and window treatments. From Home and Garden Television.
Do It Yourself Home Repair, Improvement and Remodeling
The site contains a large collection of tips, tricks, and tutorials covering a variety of subjects, from appliance care to pet care to woodworking. You can scan a list of subjects or search with keywords. There is also a free monthly newsletter.
Epicurious
Everything for food lovers - cooking videos, recipes, articles, cookbook reviews, and information on wine and restaurants.
The Garden Web
Here's the place to order all those gardening catalogs you love to read! In addition, you'll find lots of useful gardening information, including an extensive list of public gardens in the U.S. by state and type.
HGTV
Transform your home with inspiration and instruction from HGTV for your home design, decorating, landscaping and handmade craft project.
Home and Family
Home and family topics include aging, children, clothing, family relationships, housing, parenting, finances, food, nutrition and health.
Psychology Today: Parenting Center
Collection of articles about the psychology of parenting. Subjects include adoption, division of labor, fatherhood, grandparenting, child development, communication, child abuse, child neglect, sex education, technology, discipline, and more. From Psychology Today magazine.
RecipeSource (formerly SOAR)
The Searchable Online Archive of Recipes currently indexes around 70,000 recipes, including those for restricted diets, kids, special occasions - even treats for your pet. Particularly useful for browsing ethnic recipes.
USDA Hardiness Zone Map
Will your plant survive in Iowa’s climate? Check the online version of the government publication showing the growing conditions in areas across the USA.
Wine Lover’s Page
Learn all about wine with links that include a pronouncing glossary, vineyard weather, food-wine matches, and tasting notes on over 50,000 wines.
Yard and Garden
Provides how-to tips and gardening basics. Topics include flowers, fruits, houseplant, lawns, trees and shrubs, vegetables and herbs, weeds and pests.

Homework Help

Links to useful information on the Internet
ALA/ALSC Great Web Sites for Kids
Looking for something fun or educational on the Web? You're likely to find it here on this list of kids' sites recommended by the Association for Library Service to Children, part of the American Library Association.
B.J. Pinchbeck’s Homework Helper
Everyone could use a little help with their homework, and this is the perfect place to go. For the past 8 years, 17-year-old BJ and his dad have collected over 700 sites that can help you with many of your homework questions.
Homework Center
Take a look at this homework site and you will find an astounding amount of links organized by subject, tips on how to evaluate Web sites and how to use search engines.
The Homework Spot
HomeworkSpot.com is a free homework information Web site that features the very best K-12 homework-related sites for the best resources for English, math, science, history, art, music, technology, foreign language, college prep, health, life skills, extracurricular activities and much more.
KidsSpace @ The Internet Public Library
Find many resources for homework and fun. They also have a TeenSpace.

Iowa

Links to useful information on the Internet
Agriculture
All about Iowa agriculture.
Education
All about Iowa education.
Government
All about Iowa government.
Health
All about Iowa health.
History
All about Iowa history.
Politics
All about Iowa politics.
Statistics
All about Iowa statistics.
Travel and Tourism
All about travel and tourism.

Kids Links

Links to useful information on the Internet especially for kids.
50states.com (States and Capitals)
Whether you are writing a report or planning a trip, this guide to the 50 US states is a great resource. Provides pictures of state symbols, statistical information and links to many other related sights.
Arthur Site
Fans of Marc Brown's favorite aardvark will enjoy this site!
Children's Music Web
If you can't remember the words to a favorite song or want to learn a new one, be sure to check this one out.
Ed Emberly
Books, Drawing and Activities for Kids
Nickelodeon
If you're a Nick watcher, checkout this site for some of your favorites!
PBS Kids
Website with games and more focused on PBS programming for children.
Scholastic Kids
Games, puzzles and information on Scholastic titles.
Sea World
Planning a trip? Travel to Sea World without leaving your chair!

Libraries and Library Resources

Links to useful information on the Internet
American Library Association
The American Library Association is the oldest and largest library association in the world. Its mission is to promote the highest quality library and information services and public access to information.
Awesome Library
Awesome Library organizes the Web and provides resources, carefully reviewed for usefulness and appropriateness. In order to be included in the Awesome Library, resources need to meet all of the standards: only child-safe links; useful for teachers, students ("kids" or "teens"), parents, or librarians; "real stuff" (actual documents, projects, pictures, and discussion groups); current; load quickly; small percentage of "dead" links; and best version available.
Federal Depository Libraries
Federal publications and other information products are made available for free public use in Federal depository libraries throughout the United States. In addition to the publications, trained librarians are available to assist in their use
Friends of Libraries, U.S.A.
Provides resources, services, and networking opportunities for Friends, Trustees, and Foundations across the country to increase and enhance their efforts on behalf of public, academic, and school libraries.
Iowa Library Association
Promotes the development of the libraries that all Iowans depend on for information and lifelong learning. The Association provides leadership, education and support to enable its members to meet the challenges of providing quality library service to all Iowans.
Iowa Library Directory
A listing of all public libraries in Iowa, maintained by the State Library of Iowa
Library Service Areas in Iowa
Iowa's Library Service Areas provide consulting, continuing education, interlibrary loan and reference services to libraries throughout the state. There are seven Library Service Areas, each serving a part of Iowa; each Area is governed by a seven-member Board of Trustees.
Library Spot
A virtual library resource center for educators and students, librarians and their patrons, families, and businesses exploring the Web for valuable research information. The site’s stated purpose is to break through the information overload of the Web and bring the best library and reference sites together with insightful editorial in one user-friendly spot. Sites featured are hand-selected and reviewed by an editorial team for their exceptional quality, content and utility.
Public Libraries
The mission of this site is to serve people with an easy access to the use of public libraries and promote reading. This goal is made possible through participation of local libraries. It is meant to be a very resourceful site for individuals, families, schools and organizations.
State Library of Iowa
The State Library of Iowa actively champions libraries. Its two roles are improving library services in Iowa and delivering specialized information services to state government and to Iowans. Its mission is to advocate for Iowa libraries and to promote excellence and innovation in library services, in order to provide statewide access to information for all Iowans.
WWW Virtual Library
Site is arranged by specialized areas. Unlike commercial catalogues, it is run by a loose confederation of volunteers, who compile pages of key links for particular areas in which they are expert; even though it isn't the biggest index of the Web, the VL pages are widely recognized as being amongst the highest-quality guides to particular sections of the Web.

Medical and Consumer Health

Links to useful information on the Internet
Consumer and Patient Health Information Section (CAPHIS)
Web sites you can trust from the Consumer and Patient Health Information Section (CAPHIS) of the Medical Library Association. These general web sites for consumers and professionals are usually lists of links to other sites, although some contain original material. To find information on a particular disease, each site has either a search engine or a list of topics.
DocFinder
Contains the licensing background and disciplinary information of physicians and other health care practitioners in Iowa. This site is based on data from the Iowa Board of Medical Examiners.
Hardin MD
At this site you will find a "list of lists" to comprehensive resources in health-related subjects, published by Hardin Library for the Health Sciences at the University of Iowa. There are pictures of diseases and conditions as well as links to other web resources.
HealthFinder
This site offers a free gateway to consumer health and human services information from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in Spanish and English. Healthfinder links to carefully selected information and Web sites from over 1,500 health-related organizations. There is health news, consumer guides, and information on diseases, injuries, and prescription drugs.
Household Products
On this site you will find health and safety information on household products. It discusses safety hazards and adverse effects. You can enter the name of a household product and the site provides explanations and health information related to automotive products, landscaping, pesticides, cleaning supplies, pet care products, materials relating to arts and crafts, personal care and home maintenance.
Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals' (DIA) Health Facilities Division (HFD)
This site includes a directory of long-term care facilities and inspection report cards for a wide variety of health care facilities in Iowa. Visitors to this web site will find a variety of useful information to assist them in the selection of a long-term health care provider.
Kids Health
KidsHealth is the largest and most-visited site on the Web providing doctor-approved health information about children from before birth through adolescence. There are sites for parents with practical parenting information, a kids site with homework help, and a teen site with answers, advice and straight talk.
Mayo Clinic Health
This consumer health web site from the Mayo Clinic contains an extensive database on diseases and conditions, a Healthy Living Center, healthy lifestyle planners, and drug information. There is a symptom checker and a first aid guide.
MedlinePlus
MEDLINEplus provides up-to-date, quality healthcare information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health in English and Spanish. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
Merck Manual
Based on the Merck Manual, this Merck & Co. publication explains disorders, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they can be treated. Information about prognosis is also provided.
PubMed
PubMed provides access to over 14 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains dating back to the mid-1960's . Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
WebMD
The WebMD content staff blends award-winning expertise in medicine, journalism, health communication and content creation to bring you the best health information possible. Our esteemed colleagues at MedicineNet.com are frequent contributors to WebMD and comprise our Medical Editorial Board. Our Independent Medical Review Board continuously reviews the site for accuracy and timeliness.

Search Tools

Links to tools to search on the Internet
Google
The top choice for searching the Web
Yahoo
Yahoo offers specialized search options
Ask.com
Offers many innovative tools to help you get the information you need quickly and easily.
Kids Click!
Backed by librarians, KidsClick lists about 5,000 web sites in various categories.
Answers.com
Provides access to fast facts and other information from over 100 reference sources. Formerly called GuruNet.
Dogpile
Send search to a customizable list of search engines, directories and specialty search sites, then displays results from each search engine individually.

Sports

Links to useful sports information on the Internet.
CBS Sportsline
All sorts of current sports information, including news, standings, box scores, injury reports, statistics, and game recaps. Contains sections on Major League Baseball, NBA, NFL, NHL, College Football, College Basketball, and many more both in the United States and in Europe. Simple navigation and a search function is available
ExtremeSports.com
Online guide to extreme sports (aka the X-Games), including sport descriptions, photographs, schedules and results
The History of Traditional Games
This site is broken up into three main sections; Traditional Board Games from around the World, Traditional English Pub Games, and Traditional English Garden Games. Each section has separate, detailed pages on the history of such games as Billiards, Croquet, and Backgammon, as well as links to other historical type game sites. One added feature is a list of references used for finding the material for each profile.
Rulescentral.com
This site is a "comprehensive resource for Rules Enthusiasts, Sports Fans and Participants, and Games Players." It offers rules for a wide variety of activities: sports, cards, board games
Sport! Science@The Exploratorium
Learn about the science behind sports, including ice hockey, balls, and rock climbing. Also includes a sports science links and bibliography section, and the opportunity to ask a question about sports and science.
The Sporting News: The Vault
This archive includes histories of the Super Bowl, the Final Four, and the World Series. It also has scrapbooks of articles and photos about famous athletes.
Sports Almanac
Find facts and figures about different kinds of sports.
Sports Media
A gateway site with links to all sorts of physical education resources on the web. Includes links to lesson plans, coaching resources, organizations, and more.
The Sports Network
All sorts of current sports information, including scoreboards, standings, schedules, statistics, and news. Sections include MLB, NFL, NCAA Football, NHL, NBA, and PGA. Searchable.
Women in Sports
Biographies of female athletes indexed by sport and by name; biographies of women in the sports business.
Yahoo! Sports
Scores, Recaps, News, Schedules, Statistics and Standings for a variety of sports.

Teen Links

Links to useful information on the Internet especially for teens.

There are currently no items in this folder.

Travel

Better Business Bureau
This site can be searched by company name, phone number, or web address to find out whether a travel operator has a good or bad rating.
CDC Travel
This Center for Disease Control travel site gives travel health-related information by destination on vaccines, health threats, etc. There are resources for yellow fever vaccination clinics and private travel clinics. There are links to all the state health departments and guidelines for safe food and water and mosquito and tick protection.
Flight Arrivals
This site gives arrivals and departures for all commercial flights over the United States and Canada. There is also flight delay and schedule change information.
Insure My Trip
There are 100 travel insurance plans from 16 leading companies listed with price quotes. The site also has current travel warnings, consular information sheets, packing tips, atm locations, currency conversion, and traveler’s health information.
Mapquest
Offers driving directions in the United States and Europe as well as maps for the United States and abroad. There is a subscription service that lets you download information into your mobile phone.
Oanda
Gives conversions for 164 major currencies around the world, plus a printable currency cheat sheet.
Passports
This State Department Site explains how to obtain, replace or change a passport. Applications and forms can be downloaded for ordering and renewing passports. There is also travel information and news on where passports are required.
Seat Guru
This site has information on airline seating, in-flight amenities, and airline information. It contains detailed seat map graphics with in-depth seat specific comments denoting seats with limited recline, reduced legroom, and mis-aligned windows.
Time and Date
This site has a world site that gives current time in cities all over the world. There are international calling codes, a sunrise and sunset calculator, a distance calculator for figuring out the distance between two cities, current and past daylight savings time around the world and a time zone converter.
Transportation Security Administration
This site provides tips on safe traveling and contains lists of permitted and prohibited items allowed on planes. There is information on what to expect from the screening procedure and tips for packing and traveling with children.
U.S. Customs and Border Protection
This site contains rules for bringing items back from your trip for U.S. citizens. There are answers to frequently asked questions posed by U.S. residents who travel outside the United States and travel advisories.
Webflyer
This site covers the ins and outs of frequent flyer miles and includes details on every major hotel and airline program. There are articles on such topics as miles and airline bankruptcies. There is a mileage converter that shows you how to convert miles or points between frequent flyer programs.
XE.com
Gives conversions for 21 major currencies around the world.

Recommended Web sites

Useful sites to locate information on the Internet

Sometimes it is difficult to locate the information you are looking for on the Internet. The links on the left provide a starting place to search for useful information. We have collected and categorized quality websites we often use to answer frequently asked customer questions.

View the recommended Internet sites by selecting a category on the left.

Voting and Elections

Be a smart voter. Links to voter education sites.
e-democracy: United States
The goal is to improve voter participation. Includes information about current and upcoming elections. Sponsored by Minnesota E-Democracy.
FactCheck.org
This "nonpartisan, nonprofit, consumer advocate" site monitors the factual accuracy of statements from major U.S. political figures. The site is sponsored by the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania.
Follow the Money
Tracks political contributions in all 50 states. Published by the National Institute on Money in State Politics.
League of Women Voters
The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization which works to improve our systems of government and impact public policies through citizen education and advocacy. The League is a grassroots organization, working at the national, state and local levels. The site includes information about contemporary issues such as campaign finance reform, clean air and the Voting Rights Act
League of Women Voters of Iowa
The League in Iowa’s aim is to ensure citizens are informed about issues and prepared to play their part in community building and government. Through candidate debates, issue forums, community dialogues, on-line discussions and more, the League helps Americans arrive at answers to issues of local, regional, state, and national concern.
New Voters Project
Dedicated to encouraging newly eligible voters to get involved in the election process and to vote
Opensecrets.org
Information from the Federal Election Commission about campaign contributions to Congress, the political parties, and the presidential campaigns - provided by The Center for Responsive Politics
The Polling Report
An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.
Project Vote Smart
Information on political issues, campaigns, and candidates, including voting records for both federal and state officials. Identify your representatives by entering your zip code. As a national library of factual information, Project Vote Smart covers your candidates and elected officials in five basic categories: biographical information, issue positions, voting records, campaign finances and interest group ratings.
Voter Information / First Time Voters
Information on how and where to register to vote in Iowa, where to vote and how to find your precinct, absentee voting. From the Iowa Secretary of State’s office.